The Faculty of Social Sciences

The Faculty of Social Sciences is part of the University of Tirana. It dates to 1991, with the establishment of the Faculty of Social Work. Thanks to the collaboration with “Gran Valey” University in USA, The Faculty of Social Work opened a postgraduate study course in Social Work.

The Faculty of Social Sciences was named in 1992. This faculty was formed based on the Department of Social Work, the Department of Psychology-Pedagogy and the restructured Department of Philosophy-Sociology.

Over the years, the Faculty of Social Sciences has been grown both in the quality of staff and the variety of specialists graduated from. The branch of Psychology was opened in 1996 and in 2000 was opened the branch of Political Science. In 2009 were created the departments of Sociology, Philosophy and Political Science. Today the faculty has 5 departments as well as 3290 students in all study cycles.